NGAs & LGUs Workshop on Coastal Erosion Management


As part of its goal of raising awareness on coastal erosion management in the Philippines, Sagip Baybay PH, a DOST-PCAARRD funded project of the UP Marine Science Institute (UP-MSI), organized a 1-Day Workshop on Coastal Erosion Management for NGAs and LGUs last September 8, 2017 at the New Conference Room of the UP-MSI. The event moderated by Ms. Noreen Marie Follosco (UP-MSI)has been attended by 12 institutions including: (1) representative of a House solon, (1) non-government organization (NGO), (4)local government units(LGUs) and (7) national government agencies (NGAs).

The workshop centered on the discussion of the coastal erosion problem of the country and the roles of the NGAs and LGUs in line with coastal management. Experts present in the event were Dr. Fernando P. Siringan (Project Leader and UP-MSI Director), Dr. Cherry L. Ringor (Project Staff and UP Institute of Environmental Science and Meteorology Faculty), and Dr. Caroline Marie B. Jaraula (Project Staff and UP-MSI Faculty). Dr. Siringan opened the morning session with a backgrounder on the coastal erosion trends and causes in the Philippines. Such was followed by a clarification on the specific functions of the NGAs/LGUs in managing coastal zones presented by Ms. Yvainne Sta. Maria (Project Research Associate). The afternoon session of the workshop focused on the evaluation of the draft materials developed by the project teamincluding a policy brief and six (6) modular primers.

A total of 20 representatives from the following institutions actively participated: six (6) from  DENR bureaus and attached agencies (Biodiversity Management Bureau (BMB), Environmental Management Bureau (EMB), Land Management Bureau (LMB), and National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA)); three (3) from LGU San Fernando, La Union; two (2) each  from  Philippine Ports Authority (PPA), Philippine Reclamation Authority (PRA), and  LGU Aparri, Cagayan; and one (1) each Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Auhority (TIEZA), Office of Rep. Rodel M. Batocabe, LGU Bataan, LGU Lian, and Daloy ng Buhay (DALUHAY).

Article was written by Joanne Constantino for Sagip Baybay PH.

2  3 –>

Leave a Reply